On Purpose   We dance several times daily:

On Purpose

 

We dance several times daily:

the curtsey and apology of being in the way,

our polite not-touching

highlighting the passive reinforcement

of boundaries absurd.

 

I would rather crash heartlong into you

knocking down the precious, fragile cubicles

of established relationship

 

but I gracious denial sidestep. 

 

You   -sorry-   when you bump me.

I wave it away:

                        unwanted smoke in my face.

 

What I can’t say is that

I live in that contact

where you don’t disconnect.

 

How else will I know

you remember? 

About jake.forrest

Poet. Songwriter. Etc. View all posts by jake.forrest

Leave a Reply

