The Lion I rem…

The Lion

 

I remember the decorated board in my first grade classroom

but March always roared all month long,

despite how hopeful I was for the lamb:

a softening that wouldn’t happen until maybe April, sometimes not until May.

This year there is no lion at all.

 

the temperatures are record-breaking.

I already decided it would be okay

if the worst happened.

 

We stand on the deck in the thaw and watch the tips of trees turn green and bud.

You stand pretty close.

We talk longer than customary; it has been this way since November.

I feel conspicuous – rip away from you with a sensation like velcro

and head back into the apartment, make eye contact with your fiancee

who has nothing but joy on her mouth.

 

What I really wanted to say was this:

 

I am afraid that soon

children may have no lions to look for in March,

a largely forgotten mythology elders tell of

 

like snow.

About jake.forrest

Poet. Songwriter. Etc. View all posts by jake.forrest

Leave a Reply

