Since I’ve Lef…

Since I’ve Left You Behind

 

I’ll naked all day in hazy Sun City.

I’ll draw my line down, make no connection.

I’ll let you and the nothing you mean creep up on me;

it’s not a game or mistake,

but an expansion I allow like summer freckles.

 

My skin is full of it.

 

It would be a lie to say

so I’ll word instead:

fringes

goosebump

The Equilibrium Dance

intangible.

 

Sweet Carnivore

dissolution

inebriate

con((sent)sequence)

martyrdom.

 

You are my new language,

a taste in my mouth.

 

You are someone else’s memories –

the preview to a movie

that looks better than it is:

 

or that is what I tell myself

to avoid the disappointment

of not knowing.

About jake.forrest

Poet. Songwriter. Etc. View all posts by jake.forrest

Leave a Reply

