Wow, so it’s been over a week since I’ve posted anything (so much for my intent to post something new every 1-3 days, oops!) but, back on track!  Boy home visiting does make doing anything else diffiuclt *wink*, but from here on, posts should go back to being more regular.  Here’s a poem about frustration.  Grrr!  

7/17/11

Mercury in Retrograde

 

Computers aren’t cooperating.

Neither will supermarkets.

 

Traffic is shitty,

air: thick, hot, clingy,

 

and I can’t make it go/do!

but I can sob on the floor,

can curse and gurgle

until only sleep is left,

if it will let me. 

 

I am desperate with despair,

nose runny with despair,

face twitching,

crazy-eyed,

frenzied with despair. 

 

I stumble along the borderline of depression again,

working so hard to push away from that

sharp edge,

but drunkenly I sway so near,

 

and I have

no money,

no honey,

but oh I am FLUSH with time;

swimming through nightmarish hours within each minute of

 

you’re-not-here time,

waiting-in-line time,

slow-mo-lasses time.

 

I don’t even believe horoscopes anymore.

About jake.forrest

Poet. Songwriter. Etc. View all posts by jake.forrest

Leave a Reply

